Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I haven’t had much time for writing so far this week! Things are getting really down to the wire. We move in 11 days. I simply cannot believe how fast this day is approaching. I’m having a hard time thinking about anything but packing, leaving my job, finding a new job and traveling across the country. Thankfully, my Momma is flying out on Saturday to help us finish the packing and cleaning. She’ll be here for the week and will probably get to see me cry at least a hundred times while saying all of my good-byes.

I have the entire trip mapped out. We are taking a different route than we took on the way here which is exciting because I will visit four states that I’ve never visited before. We will travel through Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and finally into Michigan. Our scheduled overnight stops are in Albuquerque, (where we will do some Breaking Bad sight seeing) Oklahoma City, and St. Louis. My Dad was sweet enough to let us use his rewards points to book all three of our hotel rooms which is not only saving us hundreds of dollars, but preventing us from searching for pet friendly hotels on the fly. If anyone has a suggestion for a great places to eat or fun quick stops to make, please let me know! We will need to stretch our legs and get a little exercise so I’m up for weird sight seeing stops along the way.

I need to make decisions for the blog too. I’m trying to decide if I want to post as we travel or if I’d rather do one big post after we arrive. I guess it will all depend on how insane my children are in the car and if I throw myself out of the window somewhere in Oklahoma or not.

I have never been so excited and simultaneously terrified before. What if the boys cry the entire time? What if the cat’s tranquilizers don’t work? What if the dog pukes in the car? What if we get stuck in horrendous traffic and our 8 hour drive time between stops turns into 15 hours? What if, what if, what if… I have to rein myself in over and over again. The reality of the situation is that a few things will probably go wrong. The kids will probably be screaming at some point. The dog will be an asshole somewhere along the way. But we will make it to our new/old home and we will begin a new chapter with one great travel story. Maybe even many great travel stories. So, yes, I will write along the way even if I don’t post along the way. I don’t want to forget any details of this 2,155 mile journey. It is sure to be interesting if nothing else. The countdown has definitely begun.

unnamed[1]

