Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday, my big sister found out she is having a baby girl! She has always wanted four daughters (sounds crazy right?) and now that is exactly what she will have. My first two nieces are her daughters, now 11 and 10 (in 8 days) and her husband Bryan has a 10 year old daughter from his previous marriage. My little sister has a 9 year old daughter as well. There was a seven year no-baby run in my family and then my boys were born, and now Little Miss Lenore will be our first girl in almost 10 years. Pretty exciting! I was shocked though. Now that I have boys, it just seems natural that everyone I know should have boys. The idea that this baby would be anything but male honestly never entered my mind. I had to watch my sister’s gender reveal video twice! There are now five girls and two boys on my side of the family, and six boys and two girls on Mike’s. Almost perfectly opposite. I am not sure if we will ever get to have a daughter but if we don’t, I think seven nieces should be able to give me a girly fix when I need one. Hopefully, all these little ladies will help me teach my boys how to treat women!

“Courage, sacrifice, determination, commitment, toughness, heart, talent, guts. That’s what little girls are made of; the heck with sugar and spice.”
― Bethany Hamilton

So, I tried to do a little research about four daughter families, and I couldn’t find a whole lot. It seems that this combination isn’t all that common. There is a movie from the 1930’s called Four Daughters (Emma, Ann, Kay and Thea), and of course the March sisters (Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy) from Little Women. Aside from that, the only other well known four girl family I came up with was Matt Damon and Luciana Barrosa’s four girls (Alexia, Isabella, Gia and Stella.) and I personally know of my Mother-In-Law’s family, her being the second of four girls. While the odds of having a girl or boy is around 50% with each pregnancy (boys outnumber girls in the US, 105 to 100 so it isn’t exactly 50%) the odds of having all girls between four children are pretty slim, considering there is only one way possible to have all girls and numerous combinations possible to have both sexes. Some estimate around 6%. So, my sister’s family is pretty unique!

“Sisters is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship.” ~Margaret Mead

Nellie is all about little girls, and is really good at being their Mom. She has the perfect balance of femininity and grit to show her daughters that they can be and do anything they imagine. It is perfectly acceptable to wear make-up and high heels and later on throw on boots to stack firewood or go hunting. Because of this, my nieces are strong and wild but sweet and pretty too. No helpless little princesses coming out of that house, and the girls are certainly never encouraged to wait around for a man to handle anything.

“More than Santa Claus, your sister knows when you’ve been bad and good.” ~Linda Sunshine

I feel a tiny bit bad for future teenage Lenore. After surviving the teen years with three going through it at once, having just one will be a piece of cake for my sister and her husband. Lenore won’t get away with anything. Her parents will know all of the tricks, have tons of time to focus on her every move and she will have three big sisters who have outgrown the teenage antics and will think they know what is best for her. It will be like having four mothers! In fact her sisters may even become mothers while she’s in her teens, which will make her a super cool aunt but even more likely to be bombarded with motherly advice.

“In my experience, boys are predictable. As soon as they think of something, they do it. Girls are smarter—they plan ahead. They think about not getting caught.”
― Eoin Colfer, Half-Moon Investigations

Now that the shock is starting to wear off, I am so excited to meet the newest little lady of our family. Come on October!

  

