Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I used to write poetry all of the time. Somewhere, in boxes stashed at my parents’ house, are pages and pages of my childhood dreams and teenage angst, poured from my heart on to paper and then forgotten behind. I remember bits and pieces from a few, but most I’m sure would be extremely entertaining now as an adult! I look forward to unearthing them at some point. I haven’t written a poem in forever, but today this poem came to me while thinking about my babies and how quickly they are growing. How one day my little guys will grow up and become someone else’s guy. I’m always reminding myself that I’m not just raising boys, I’m raising men. And that scares me sometimes. I mentioned before that I tell Truman that I love him too much, and I now tell Grant that as well. So, the poem came together quite naturally.

I Love You Too, Too Much

I’m sorry if my cuddling
Wakes you from your sleep
But I know about little babies
And I know that you won’t keep

You aren’t afraid of anything
The world is new to you and such
And I’m afraid of everything
Because I love you too, too much

I’m sorry if my worrying
Is ruining your fun
I know you’re just a little boy
And you want to play and run

You aren’t afraid of anything
Like heights and bugs and such
And I’m afraid of everything
Because I love you too, too much

I’m sorry if all of my questions
Are invading your privacy
I know you’re a teenager now
And you don’t want to talk with me

You aren’t afraid of anything
Like girls and cars and such
And I’m afraid of everything
Because I love you too, too much

I’m sorry if I keep checking up
I just can’t stay away
I know that you’re a man now
And you don’t need me every day

You just grew up so quickly Son
And I have to keep in touch
No matter how much time goes by
I still love you too, too much

– Annie M. Yeoman

